Diocesan Pastoral Council

Welcome to the DPC

The Diocesan Pastoral Council is the Bishop's Pastoral Council. Members represent all sectors of the diocese. A man and a woman are elected from each of the six regions of the diocese, and serve a maximum of two terms (six years) on the Council. The religious orders also have a man and a woman as do the youth of the diocese.

Maori are representred by two reps, one from Te Tai Tokerau, and the other from Tamaki Makaurau.

Six representatives are nominated by ethnic chaplains to serve the same terms as elected representatives.

The Council of Priests also has a representative on the DPC.

The DPC meets quarterly over a weekend with the Bishop. Regional reps report to the regions at regional pastoral council meetings or by post,  telephone or email. Ethnic reps report to their executives. Matters to be raised with the bishop and his council should be passed through the representative to be put on the agenda for the next meeting.

Annual Bishop's forums are held in the regions and DPC members formally report to these and/or are elected at them.
We are looking for a  woman rep for the City rehion as Heather has finished two terms. Parishes are asked to nominate their best candidates to serve the Bishop on his council. Nominations are due in by the middle of July.
Contact patl@cda.org.nz for nomination forms or the parishes also have copies.

The contact details of current members are listed below.

If you wish to contact your representative please do so. 

2015 meeting dates:

6/7th June, 22/23 August, 14/15 November




PRESIDENT: Bishop Patrick Dunn, Pompallier Centre,

 Private Bag 47.904, Ponsonby, Auckland 2 Ph 378.4380 Fax 376.2829

Vice-President Chair: Loraine Elliott
 e-mail loraine.elliott@xtra.co.nz

  Executive Secretary: Pat Lythe, Pompallier Centre (as above) Home phone 483.9903 mob 027 344 1663

   e-mail (w) patl@cda.org.nz: (h) patlythe@gmail.com

There is one woman and one man from each region.

Connie Hassan,  Awanui 0486 Ph 09 408 7481
  James Nyssen, Dargaville, (09) 439.7903 jamesnyssen@clear.net.nz


Rob Donze, Ph  021 725 977
Monica Grimshaw Ph 021 264 3688

Tevita Funaki  Avondale 1026    (09) 828.9941
Margaret O'Sullivan. Ranui (09) 832.1254


Seamus Donegan, Campbell Rd, Remuera   525 6080
Lami Burke
: 34 Paddington St, Auck 1072 Ph 027 2800991


Lancelot Piedade,  Ph 829.2210

Dori Handa ; dorihanda@gmail.com

  Bryan Johnson be.johnson@vodafone.co.nz
  Irene Tufuga,  Ph 256.0943

Br Lewis Harwood, fsc, 021 0200 9745

Sr Jo Greshan smsm Ph (09) 4386784 jogresh@hotmail.com

EX-OFFICIO (Council of Priests )
Fr Peter Tipene, Ph:    627.2089


Maria Pais; 027 210 5050
Mark Peji 021 02246838

Maori Te Tai Tokerau Joe Clarke, Dargaville Ph 09 4398092
Eva Morunga Tamaki Makaurau Ph 09 5278289
 (Samoan comm.) Ausage Setu, Northcote 021 2576839
Ana Paea Tongan comm)  Otahuhu  Ph (09) 250.1251
  Romy Udanga (Filipino Community)  Ph 021 222 8157 
  Brian Ma (Chinese comm)    Ph 021 021 2161805
Helena Shin, (Korean community) 021 1388700

Diocesan Pastoral Council Newsletters
Click on the link below and read our latest DPC News
 TitleOwnerCategoryModified DateSize 
March 2011 NewsletterPat Lythe 20/06/2011UnknownDownload
DPC newsletter March 2013Pat Lythe 21/08/20131.55 MBDownload
DPC Newsletter June 2013Pat Lythe 21/08/20131.53 MBDownload
 TitleOwnerCategoryModified DateSize 
DPC March 2014 newsletterPat Lythe 20/05/20141.56 MBDownload
August DPC NewsltterPat Lythe 29/08/20131.56 MBDownload