Regional Pastoral Councils

R E G I O N A L   P A S T O R A L   C O U N C I L S

Pope John Paul II (1989), "Christifideles Laici" para. 26

"For the renewal of parishes and for a better assurance of their effectiveness and worth, various forms of co-operation even on the institutional level ought to be fostered among diverse parishes in the same area."


1)         There are 65 parishes in the diocese of Auckland but not every parish can be directly represented on the Diocesan Pastoral Council.

The clergy organise themselves into regional groupings called DEANERIES and parishes too are asked to come together in the same way, in order to foster co-operation and facilitate communication.

 2)         It is recommended that a regional pastoral council be set up composed of two representatives, woman and man, from each parish in the region, as well as representatives from the deanery and the religious engaged in the region.

 3)        These regional pastoral councils give opportunity for spiritual growth and education of its members, give them a wider vision of Church, enable neighbouring parishes to co-operate and support each other; help in assessing the pastoral needs and problems of the region and arrange ways and means of dealing with them.

 4)        Regional pastoral councils are not just communication structures, but opportunities for living a wider experience of Church, for reflecting on church documents and papal teachings and for training in spiritual formation, using diocesan resources and expertise.

 5)        They also provide opportunities for "hands on" experiential activity and participation in formation which can be taken back to the parishes, i.e.

Presentation of themes based on recent Papal statements, e.g. “Deus Caritas Est" and "Evangelisation", using videos, speakers and small group work.

 Guest speakers on topics requested by members, e.g. RCIA ; Reconciliation : Justice : etc.

Regional days where interest groups from different parishes share their experiences and are addressed by diocesan departmental personnel.

The Regions which have functioning regional pastoral councils are: Te Tai Tokerau RPC, North Shore,  and Eastern.

Te Tai Tokerau RPC contact details:
Annie Fox, Chairperson; email
Ph 09 459.5993 mob 021 759 025
Secretary: Mary Hape

North Shore RPC contact details
Robb Donze,  Ph 021 725 977
Monica Grimshaw Ph 021 264 3688

Eastern  RPC contact details
Loraine Elliott Ph 021 288 2438


Western, South Auckland and City-Central do not currently meet as regions.

To discover who your regional reprersentative on the Diocesan Pastoral Council is, go to DPC members page